Commission Approves $1.2 Million Transfer for Roads

Recently, the Walker County Commission approved the transfer of $1.2 million remaining in American Rescue Plan Act (ARPA) funds to be used for roads throughout the county. The four districts will receive $300,000 each for roads.

“The availability of ARPA money has been a blessing to get some of these road projects completed,” said District 2 Commissioner Jeff Burrough.

“This will allow District 1 to finish the second part of Duncan Road ahead of schedule,” said District 1 Commissioner Keith Davis.

“This additional $1.2 million will help us to continue to pave roads,” added Commission Chair Steve Miller, “and we enjoy the ability to move those funds in that direction.”

“As it’s been stated before, we’d love to pave every road in our district, but we are limited in funds,” said Borden. “The ARPA money is a one-time influx, and we try to determine how to get the best benefit out of these dollars.”

Current or recently completed work throughout the county includes:
• District 1: Bennett Road, Lamon Chapel Loop, Blooming Grove Road, Russell Dairy Road, Duncan Road (half), Windham Loop, and Woods Road.
• District 2: King Road, Saragossa Road, Redmill-Saragossa Road, Self Road, and Aultman Road
• District 3: Brunner Hill Road, The Narrows, and Day Hill Road.
• District 4: Arkadelphia Road, Firetower Road, Old Pineywoods Road, Hall Burton Road, Pineywoods/Sipsey Road, and Empire Road from Little Vine to County Line.

Borden said upcoming projects for District 3 include work on Old Birmingham Highway, Old Tuscaloosa Road, Liberty Hill Road, Wiggins Road, and Hugh Hyche Road.

The Commission also recently approved $175,000 for the Walker County Community Action Agency (WCCAA), and $200,000 for the Fire Association. The former supports the purchase of a new building and two acres on Highway 195 for the WCCAA, and the latter a building/training facility for multiple agencies of the Fire Association. Volunteer firefighters were commended at the meeting and received a standing ovation from the Commission.

The Walker County Commission includes: District 1 Commissioner Keith Davis, District 2 Commissioner Jeff Burrough, District 3 Commissioner Jim Borden, District 4 Commissioner Steven Aderholt, and Commission Chairman Steve Miller. WL

%d bloggers like this: